Recapitulation

by forumholitorium

The moon is waning, as is 2015. It’s time to look back at the path you followed throughout the year and take stock. Whereas 2014 was the year I paid close attention to what nourishes me, 2015 has been a year of sifting and winnowing and decluttering, a year of deciding what objects I want to have around me. Lots of clothes and books made their way out the door, ones I had worn out, ones I no longer felt I needed, in certain cases ones whose presence had become a burden or irritation. We need very little, and though we tend to surround ourselves with a plethora of objects, very few of them are regularly used. This year I tried to make more space for what is truly important, and what I found is this.

The yarn above is what I purchased this year that still hasn’t been turned into knitwear. No matter how hard I try to reduce my stash, more yarn appears to fill the space. Nature abhors a vacuum.  Over the past few months, a voice in me has become more persuasive, saying keep going in this direction, learn as much as you can about textiles, see what happens. I feel the need to try out new techniques. Looking back on my knitting goals for 2014, I have been mostly successful in producing the number of items I set out to knit, but I was not particularly adventurous in my choice of techniques. I completed six sweaters including a cardigan and a pullover, though I didn’t make a turtleneck or try steeking. I also set myself the ambitious goal of 15 pairs of socks. When I finish my Christmas knitting, I will be up to 11, which is an average of nearly one pair a month. I’m also satisfied with that, though it has in no way turned me into the sock expert I had hoped to become. I have a few favorite sock patterns that I keep repeating. The last two goals were to try brioche stitch, which I did by making a hat, and to knit something with lace weight yarn. Once the Christmas knitting is done, I plan to settle down on the couch in my new Saturn Sweater with a pair of needles and the ball of lace weight yarn below. This tiny Schokotatze (chocolate paw) colored skein has enough yards wound up in it to make a large and warm yet fine shawl or stole.

  Hope you are making space for what is important to you and enjoying the mistletoe!

